Prof. Dr. Gerhard Ertl

Director of the Dept. of Physical Chemistry 1986 – 2004

Phone: +49–30–8413-5100
Fax: +49–30–8413-5106

Nobel Prize
Stockholm,10 December 2007
Curriculum Vitae
2004 – nowProfessor emeritusDepartment of Physical Chemistry, Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, Berlin
1986-2004DirectorDepartment of Physical Chemistry, Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, Berlin
1981-1982Visiting ProfessorDepartment of Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley
1979Visiting ProfessorDept. of Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena
Professor & DirectorInstitute for Physical Chemistry, Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich
1968-1973Professor & DirectorInstitute for Physical Chemistry, Technical University, Hannover (presently Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz University)

Assistant & LecturerAssistant & Lecturer
Technical University, Munich: Dr. rer. nat in 1965
1959-1961Technical University, Stuttgart: Dipl. Phys. in 1961
Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich
1957-1958University of Paris
Technical University, Stuttgart
1936bornOctober 10, in Stuttgart, Germany
Gerhard Ertl Lecture & Award

The Ertl Lecture Award was established in 2008 by the three Berlin universities (Humboldt University, Technical University and Free University) and the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society and is awarded once a year. It commemorates former FHI Director Gerhard Ertl’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry, which he received in 2007. The prize honours outstanding personalities and researchers in the field of catalysis where Ertl carried out exceptional research for many decades. The prize, sponsored by BASF, includes a one-week research stay at the participating Berlin institutions and a keynote lecture. The winner is typically announced in Spring, the lecture takes place on December 10th, the anniversary of Ertl’s Nobel Prize reception.

For more information and an up-to-date list of awardees please visit the institute’s Gerhard Ertl Lecture & Award website:

Honors and Awards
2015Hall of Fame der deutschen ForschungManager Magazin
 2014Bayerischer MaximiliansordenPrime Minister of Bavaria
 2011TUM Distinguished Affiliated ProfessorTechnische Universität München
 2011Dr. honoris causaUniversity of Technology and Life Sciences, Bydgoszcz
 2010Barsanti & Matteucci AwardCity of Pietrosanta
 2010Laurea honoris causaUniversità di Pisa
 2009Bohlmann LectureTechnische Universität Berlin
 2009Dr. honoris causaMaria Curie-Sklodowska University, Lublin
 2009Dr. honoris causaComenius University, Bratislava
 2009Dr. honoris causaHumboldt-Universität zu Berlin
 2008Diesel Gold MedalDeutsches Institut für Erfindungswesen
 2008Nicolaus Copernicus MedalPolish Academy of Sciences
 2008Großes Bundesverdienstkreuz mit SternPresident of the Federal Republic of Germany
 2008Dr. honoris causaTechnische Universität München
 2008Dr. honoris causaQueen’s University Belfast
 2008VerdienstmedailleLand Baden-Württemberg 
 2007 Nobel Prize in ChemistryThe Nobel Prize Foundation
 2007Otto-Hahn-PreisGesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker, Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft, & the City of Frankfurt/M
 2007Gold MedalSlovak Chemical Society
 2007Baker LectureshipCornell University, Ithaca (NY)
 2007Faraday LectureshipRoyal Society of Chemistry
 2006Guptill LectureDalhousie University, Halifax
 2005Angström LectureUniversity of Uppsala
 2005Linus Pauling LectureCalifornia Institute of Technology
 2003Dr. honoris causaUniversity of Aarhus
 2003Dr. honoris causaChalmers University of Technology, Goeteborg
 2003Dr. honoris causaUniversity of Leuven
 2002FMC LectureshipPrinceton University
 2002Karl Ziegler Visiting ProfessorMax Planck Institute Mulheim
 2002Spiers Memorial Medal and LectureshipRoyal Society of Chemistry
 2001G.F. Smith LectureUniversity of Illinois, Urbana
 2001Kelly LecturePurdue University
 2001Schuit LectureTechnical University of Eindhoven
 2001Pitzer LectureUniversity of California, Berkeley
 2000Dr. honoris causaUniversity of Münster
 1999Roessler LectureshipCornell University
 1999Le Bel LectureUniversité de Strasbourg
 1999Debye LectureUniversiteit Utrecht
 1998Wolf Prize in ChemistryWolf Foundation
 1998Karl Ziegler PrizeGerman Chemical Society
 1998Francois Gault LectureshipEuropean Catalysis Society
 1998M. Curie LectureshipPolish Chemical Society
 1997Laird LectureUniversity of British Columbia
 1997A.D. Little LectureshipMassachusetts Institute of Technology
 1996Honorary Professor Humboldt University Berlin
 1996Carl Engler MedalGerman Scientific Society for Coal and Petroleum Research (DGMK)
 1996Merck LectureRutgers University
 1996Brdicka LectureCzech Academy of Sciences
 1995Medard W. Welch AwardAmerican Vacuum Society
 1995Stauffer LectureUniversity of Southern California
 1994Rolf Sammet Visiting ProfessorUniversity of Frankfurt
 1992Hewlett-Packard Europhysics PrizeEuropean Physical Society
 1992Japan PrizeScience and Technology Foundation of Japan
 1992Bunsen MedalGerman Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry
 1992Dr. Honoris CausaRuhr-University of Bochum
 1992Großes BundesverdienstkreuzPresident of the Federal Republic of Germany
 1992Kolthoff LectureshipUniversity of Minnesota
 1992Kaufman Memorial LectureUniversity of Pittsburgh
 1991Leibniz PrizeGerman Science Foundation
 1991Bourke Medal and LectureshipRoyal Society of Chemistry
 1990Alwin Mittasch MedalGerman Federation of Chemical Engineers (DECHEMA)
 1990Dow LectureshipUniversity of Western Ontario
 1990Coover LectureIowa State University
 1989Frontiers in Chemical Research LectureshipTexas A&M University
 1988William Draper Harkins LectureUniversity of Chicago
 1988Barre LectureUniversity of Montreal
 1987Liebig MedalGerman Chemical Society
 1986Honorary Professor Free University of Berlin
 1986Honorary ProfessorTechnical University of Berlin
 1986Langmuir LectureAmerican Chemical Society
 1985C.F. Gauss MedalScientific Society of Braunschweig
 1985Centenary Medal and LectureshipRoyal Society of Chemistry
 1985C.G.A. Schuit LectureUniversity of Delaware
 1984FECS LectureFederation of European Chemical Societies
 1984Industry LectureNorwegian Chemical Society
 1979Paul H. Emmett Award in Fundamental CatalysisAmerican Catalysis Society
 1979E.W. Müller AwardUniversity of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
 1977Frank Ciapetta National LectureshipAmerican Catalysis Society
 1976Sherman Fairchild Distinguished ScholarCalifornia Institute of Technology
2012 Honorary MemberGerman Physical Society
2011 Foreign MemberRussian Academy of Sciences
2010Honorary MemberBerlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften
2010MemberPontificia Academia Scientiarium
2010Foreign MemberBulgarian Academy of Sciences
2009Foreign MemberPolish Academy of Sciences
2009Honorary Member Technische Universität Berlin
2009Honorary Member Deutscher Hochschulverband
2008Honorary Member Dechema (German Society of Chemical Technology)
2008 Honorary Member GDCh (German Chemical Society)
2008 Honorary Member Berliner Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft
2008Honorary Member European Academy of Sciences and Art
2008Honorary MemberPhysikalischer Verein, Frankfurt a.M.
2007Honorary FellowRoyal Society of Chemistry
2006Honorary MemberRoyal Society of Chemistry
2002Foreign AssociateNational Academy of Sciences
2001Corresponding MemberAustrian Academy of Sciences
1998Corresponding MemberBavarian Academy of Sciences
1993MemberBerlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences
1993Foreign Honorary MemberAmerican Academy of Arts and Sciences
1993Corresponding MemberNordrhein.-Westfal. Academy of Sciences
1992MemberAcademia Europaea
1986Corresponding MemberScientific Society of Braunschweig
1986MemberGerman Academy of Sciences, “Leopoldina”
1985Honorary FellowRoyal Society of Edinburgh